Xossip

Go Back Xossip > Technology> Computers, Gadgets & Gizmos > Transcend StoreJet 35 Ultra HDD casing supports 3TB Drive or not?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 8th August 2013
newuser990 newuser990 is offline
 
Join Date: 14th June 2013
Posts: 670
Rep Power: 4 Points: 710
newuser990 has received several accoladesnewuser990 has received several accoladesnewuser990 has received several accolades
Transcend StoreJet 35 Ultra HDD casing supports 3TB Drive or not?

Can anyone using "Transcend StoreJet 35 Ultra" Casing confirm if this casing supports 3TB drive or not?

I have seen people claiming support for 1.5TB and 2TB but not a single comment for 3TB,someone who has this casing and drive please confirm?

or anyone using any 3TB drive can let me know how they connect their disk? local casing?transcend casing?Dock?Direct sata?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 8th August 2013
DNA_Uncut DNA_Uncut is offline
Never say never
 
Join Date: 8th May 2008
Posts: 15,377
Rep Power: 37 Points: 11682
DNA_Uncut is one with the universeDNA_Uncut is one with the universeDNA_Uncut is one with the universeDNA_Uncut is one with the universeDNA_Uncut is one with the universeDNA_Uncut is one with the universeDNA_Uncut is one with the universeDNA_Uncut is one with the universeDNA_Uncut is one with the universe
UL: 3.90 gb DL: 7.71 gb Ratio: 0.51
3 TB external hdd is cheaper than internal. Why do you wanna mess the internal with casing?

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th August 2013
newuser990 newuser990 is offline
 
Join Date: 14th June 2013
Posts: 670
Rep Power: 4 Points: 710
newuser990 has received several accoladesnewuser990 has received several accoladesnewuser990 has received several accolades
^do you have any idea if we can take hard drive out of the casing if we want to and use it internally by connecting to motherboard sata port...
i am doing reserach on 3TB drives and people are facing a lot of issues due to MBR limiting drives at 2TB,you need to use GPT and so some guys see only 746 GB out of 3TB...blah blah...i was all set to buy a 3 TB but i am thinking about dropping the idea.

ps:i know taking the drive out will invalidate the warranty but lets say after warranty.i want to know if that is an option.

Last edited by newuser990 : 8th August 2013 at 06:43 PM.

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th August 2013
DNA_Uncut DNA_Uncut is offline
Never say never
 
Join Date: 8th May 2008
Posts: 15,377
Rep Power: 37 Points: 11682
DNA_Uncut is one with the universeDNA_Uncut is one with the universeDNA_Uncut is one with the universeDNA_Uncut is one with the universeDNA_Uncut is one with the universeDNA_Uncut is one with the universeDNA_Uncut is one with the universeDNA_Uncut is one with the universeDNA_Uncut is one with the universe
UL: 3.90 gb DL: 7.71 gb Ratio: 0.51
I have 3 TB 3.5 external hdd. No problem wat so ever. My mobo is old one ...

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th August 2013
newuser990 newuser990 is offline
 
Join Date: 14th June 2013
Posts: 670
Rep Power: 4 Points: 710
newuser990 has received several accoladesnewuser990 has received several accoladesnewuser990 has received several accolades
ohhhhkkk
1. when did you buy it and for how much?seagate/wd?
2. which OS?32/64 bit?
3. how many partitions and partition sizes?
4. can you see full 3TB or just 2TB/746GB?
5. how much old is you MOBO?
6. AND AND do you have any idea about what this guy is talking about?
techenclave.com/community/threads/some-points-about-wd-3tb-external-drive.151127/

drive can be used in that particular enclosure due to "dreadful hardware encryption by sata-usb bridge for external drive by WD"???

Last edited by newuser990 : 8th August 2013 at 07:00 PM.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8th August 2013
DNA_Uncut DNA_Uncut is offline
Never say never
 
Join Date: 8th May 2008
Posts: 15,377
Rep Power: 37 Points: 11682
DNA_Uncut is one with the universeDNA_Uncut is one with the universeDNA_Uncut is one with the universeDNA_Uncut is one with the universeDNA_Uncut is one with the universeDNA_Uncut is one with the universeDNA_Uncut is one with the universeDNA_Uncut is one with the universeDNA_Uncut is one with the universe
UL: 3.90 gb DL: 7.71 gb Ratio: 0.51
It's segate & i run 32bit os
I haven't partitioned it since it's used just to store datas. Not going to boot via it
It's showing around 2.5+ TB approx. Don't remember
More than 3 yrs old
I wouldn't suggest tampering it. So no comment on it ...

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 8th August 2013
newuser990 newuser990 is offline
 
Join Date: 14th June 2013
Posts: 670
Rep Power: 4 Points: 710
newuser990 has received several accoladesnewuser990 has received several accoladesnewuser990 has received several accolades
^ok

thanks a lot.

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 8th August 2013
DNA_Uncut DNA_Uncut is offline
Never say never
 
Join Date: 8th May 2008
Posts: 15,377
Rep Power: 37 Points: 11682
DNA_Uncut is one with the universeDNA_Uncut is one with the universeDNA_Uncut is one with the universeDNA_Uncut is one with the universeDNA_Uncut is one with the universeDNA_Uncut is one with the universeDNA_Uncut is one with the universeDNA_Uncut is one with the universeDNA_Uncut is one with the universe
UL: 3.90 gb DL: 7.71 gb Ratio: 0.51
http://www.flipkart.com/seagate-expa...0-08df7dd63a56

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 03:35 AM.
Page generated in 0.01590 seconds