Xossip

Go Back Xossip > Technology> Technical Help & Tutorials > Here to answer all your questions related to WEB

Reply Free Video Chat with Indian Girls
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #101  
Old 7th July 2013
jack26 jack26 is offline
 
Join Date: 26th June 2007
Posts: 121
Rep Power: 18 Points: 44
jack26 is an unknown quantity at this point
UL: 74.32 gb DL: 74.94 gb Ratio: 0.99
Thumbs up quotes

What is the best way to display a quote on the webpage. The quote changes for every day.

Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old 7th July 2013
mastlund's Avatar
mastlund mastlund is offline
The WebCyclist
 
Join Date: 6th May 2010
Location: Internet
Posts: 4,048
Rep Power: 15 Points: 2018
mastlund is a pillar of our community
Send a message via Yahoo to mastlund
UL: 97.27 mb DL: 495.78 mb Ratio: 0.20
Quote:
Originally Posted by jack26 View Post
do you need to host it onto the server to check this or does it work on your local machine as well. does'nt seem to work for me on my system.
nah, what happened with me was, while completing a php project in my college, i made a php site on my desktop PC (in local host WAMP), there this favicon was working and i was happy that i got a favicon too (because no one else in my batch had it ), but while presenting it in front of my lecturer, on the college desktop it did not open at all, ,
so my view, it works with some lucky people and trolls the rest

Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 8th July 2013
Mushtanda's Avatar
Mushtanda Mushtanda is offline
Visit my website
 
Join Date: 16th June 2013
Location: Apna Punjab
Posts: 560
Rep Power: 4 Points: 248
Mushtanda is beginning to get noticed
Send a message via Skype™ to Mushtanda
Quote:
Originally Posted by mastlund View Post
nah, what happened with me was, while completing a php project in my college, i made a php site on my desktop PC (in local host WAMP), there this favicon was working and i was happy that i got a favicon too (because no one else in my batch had it ), but while presenting it in front of my lecturer, on the college desktop it did not open at all, ,
so my view, it works with some lucky people and trolls the rest
After i saw your posts, i did a little research on this

We can try a few things for this,
  • Change the browser
  • Clear your browser cache after you make changes to your code.
  • Use full URL. eg: http://localhost/mysite/images/favicon.png
  • Make sure your favicon is .ico file.
  • Make sure favicon in 16x16 or 32x32 pixel and either 8-bit or 24-bit colors. See W3 Rules
______________________________
Karmi Aapo Aapni, Ke Nede Ke Door

Last edited by Mushtanda : 8th July 2013 at 12:16 AM.

Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 8th July 2013
Mushtanda's Avatar
Mushtanda Mushtanda is offline
Visit my website
 
Join Date: 16th June 2013
Location: Apna Punjab
Posts: 560
Rep Power: 4 Points: 248
Mushtanda is beginning to get noticed
Send a message via Skype™ to Mushtanda
Quote:
Originally Posted by jack26 View Post
What is the best way to display a quote on the webpage. The quote changes for every day.
You need server side language to change quotes after a regular interval.
______________________________
Karmi Aapo Aapni, Ke Nede Ke Door

Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 8th July 2013
mastlund's Avatar
mastlund mastlund is offline
The WebCyclist
 
Join Date: 6th May 2010
Location: Internet
Posts: 4,048
Rep Power: 15 Points: 2018
mastlund is a pillar of our community
Send a message via Yahoo to mastlund
UL: 97.27 mb DL: 495.78 mb Ratio: 0.20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mushtanda View Post
After i saw your posts, i did a little research on this

We can try a few things for this,
  • Change the browser
  • Clear your browser cache after you make changes to your code.
  • Use full URL. eg: http://localhost/mysite/images/favicon.png
  • Make sure your favicon is .ico file.
  • Make sure favicon in 16x16 or 32x32 pixel and either 8-bit or 24-bit colors. See W3 Rules
yeah , i used WAMP in mozilla mostly at my home, and college authorities are enough proud of their IE on winXP to run php codes
changing browser really works with many problems on localhost, even with mozilla and chrome,

Reply With Quote
  #106  
Old 8th July 2013
Mushtanda's Avatar
Mushtanda Mushtanda is offline
Visit my website
 
Join Date: 16th June 2013
Location: Apna Punjab
Posts: 560
Rep Power: 4 Points: 248
Mushtanda is beginning to get noticed
Send a message via Skype™ to Mushtanda
Quote:
Originally Posted by mastlund View Post
yeah , i used WAMP in mozilla mostly at my home, and college authorities are enough proud of their IE on winXP to run php codes
changing browser really works with many problems on localhost, even with mozilla and chrome,
If it was IE then, it was browser problem, coz IE 8 and previous versions were not coded to show favicon on local host.
______________________________
Karmi Aapo Aapni, Ke Nede Ke Door

Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old 8th July 2013
jack26 jack26 is offline
 
Join Date: 26th June 2007
Posts: 121
Rep Power: 18 Points: 44
jack26 is an unknown quantity at this point
UL: 74.32 gb DL: 74.94 gb Ratio: 0.99
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by mastlund View Post
nah, what happened with me was, while completing a php project in my college, i made a php site on my desktop PC (in local host WAMP), there this favicon was working and i was happy that i got a favicon too (because no one else in my batch had it ), but while presenting it in front of my lecturer, on the college desktop it did not open at all, ,
so my view, it works with some lucky people and trolls the rest


IT is still very amusing.

Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old 8th July 2013
jack26 jack26 is offline
 
Join Date: 26th June 2007
Posts: 121
Rep Power: 18 Points: 44
jack26 is an unknown quantity at this point
UL: 74.32 gb DL: 74.94 gb Ratio: 0.99
Thumbs up domain and server related

I registered domain name with one party and they provided free email service and also had a webmail login. Then I purchased webspace from another and changed the server names. I have hosted my webpage and its working fine.

The email is also working fine till now. I have it configured in outlook and on my samsung mobile as IMAP. But the webmail url is now gone. Cant access the url.

How can I access the webmail. Any comments on what I should do or do I need to configure it somewhere.

Thanks and Regards,
Jack

Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old 8th July 2013
Mushtanda's Avatar
Mushtanda Mushtanda is offline
Visit my website
 
Join Date: 16th June 2013
Location: Apna Punjab
Posts: 560
Rep Power: 4 Points: 248
Mushtanda is beginning to get noticed
Send a message via Skype™ to Mushtanda
Quote:
Originally Posted by jack26 View Post
I registered domain name with one party and they provided free email service and also had a webmail login. Then I purchased webspace from another and changed the server names. I have hosted my webpage and its working fine.

The email is also working fine till now. I have it configured in outlook and on my samsung mobile as IMAP. But the webmail url is now gone. Cant access the url.

How can I access the webmail. Any comments on what I should do or do I need to configure it somewhere.

Thanks and Regards,
Jack
When you say Webmail URL is gone. what does it mean?

You mean when you visit you webmail, it shows 404 HTTP error or 403 or something like this?
If that's the case, create a ticket to your hosting support team.
______________________________
Karmi Aapo Aapni, Ke Nede Ke Door

Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old 8th July 2013
jack26 jack26 is offline
 
Join Date: 26th June 2007
Posts: 121
Rep Power: 18 Points: 44
jack26 is an unknown quantity at this point
UL: 74.32 gb DL: 74.94 gb Ratio: 0.99
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mushtanda View Post
When you say Webmail URL is gone. what does it mean?

You mean when you visit you webmail, it shows 404 HTTP error or 403 or something like this?
If that's the case, create a ticket to your hosting support team.
The free email is provided by domain register and since I have changed the defaultwebsever to point to the webhosting server, i suppose the webmail service provided by them is not available. However email is still working and being delivered to my outlook (this service is provided by domain register).

Cannot figure out what is the problem and what I should be doing. Am completely new to domain and web hosting.

I tried creating a webmail.mycompany.com as subdomain to mycompany.com at the webhosting server. But beyond that dont know. I still have to learn / dig information.

Reply With Quote
Reply Free Video Chat with Indian Girls


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 09:30 AM.
Page generated in 0.06588 seconds